Skip to main navigation.

History of Intercounty Electric


Intercounty Electric Cooperative came about as a result of the Rural Electrification Act and was formed and incorporated on December 12, 1936. Nine rural residents became the Board of Directors: Roy W. Wall, F.W. Carney, Dr. Leslie Randall, Luther Johnson, J.J. Bowles, H.W. Lenox, F.J. Ryan, O.A. Johnson and R.W. Day.

In April of 1940, IECA energized its first electric line. As of 2018, IECA serves over 24,000 members, over 30,000 connected meters, 5,595 miles of energized lines serving part of 10 counties.

Intercounty Electric Cooperative welcomes the opportunity to provide you, the member-consumer, with electric service. IECA is a not for profit, rural electric cooperative owned by its member. We would like to provide you with answers to questions you may have about IECA.  

Intercounty Electric provides electricity to residential, farm, and commercial consumers in Dent, Phelps and Texas counties and parts of Crawford, Gasconade, Laclede, Maries, Pulaski, Shannon and Wright counties.

Each IECA member with at least one electric service is a voting member in the business affairs of the Cooperative, subject to the provisions of the Bylaws. The members of IECA meet annually at the Annual Membership Meeting to transact business and to elect Directors whose term of office has expired. Nine Directors serve for three year terms. The Board of Directors establishes operating policies and exercises all powers of the Cooperative except those powers reserved to the members, or delegated to the CEO.



Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo